IJCAI-13 Awards
The IJCAI-13 Award for Research Excellence and the Computers and Thought Award are awarded by the IJCAI Board of Trustees, upon recommendation by the IJCAI-13 Awards Selection Committee, which in 2013 consisted of:

Jaime Carbonell, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Tom Dietterich, Oregon State University (USA)
Fausto Giunchiglia, University of Trento (Italy)
Ramon Lopez de Mantaras, IIIA-CSIC (Chair), and
Peter Stone, University of Texas at Austin (USA) .

The IJCAI Awards Selection Committee receives advice from members of the IJCAI-13 Awards Review Committee, who comment on the accuracy of the nomination material and provide additional information about the nominees. The IJCAI-13 Awards Review Committee is the union of the former Trustees of IJCAI, the IJCAI-13 Advisory Committee, the Program Chairs of the last three IJCAI conferences, and the past recipients of the IJCAI Award for Research Excellence and the IJCAI Distinguished Service Award, with nominees excluded.

IJCAI-13 Award for Research Excellence
The Research Excellence award is given to a scientist who has carried out a program of research of consistently high quality yielding several substantial results. Past recipients of this honor are the most illustrious group of scientists from the field of Artificial Intelligence;
They are: John McCarthy (1985), Allen Newell (1989), Marvin Minsky (1991), Raymond Reiter (1993), Herbert Simon (1995), Aravind Joshi (1997), Judea Pearl (1999), Donald Michie (2001), Nils Nilsson (2003), Geoffrey E. Hinton (2005), Alan Bundy (2007), Victor Lesser (2009) and Robert Anthony Kowalski (2011).

The winner of the 2013 Award for Research Excellence is Hector Levesque, Professor of Computer Science at the Department of Computer Science of the University of Toronto. Professor Levesque is recognized for his work on a variety of topics in knowledge representation and reasoning, including cognitive robotics, theories of belief, and tractable reasoning.

IJCAI-13 Computers and Thought Award
The Computers and Thought Award is presented at IJCAI conferences to outstanding young scientists in artificial intelligence. The award was established with royalties received from the book, Computers and Thought, edited by Edward Feigenbaum and Julian Feldman. It is currently supported by income from IJCAI funds. Past recipients of this honor have been: Terry Winograd (1971), Patrick Winston (1973), Chuck Rieger (1975), Douglas Lenat (1977), David Marr (1979), Gerald Sussman (1981), Tom Mitchell (1983), Hector Levesque (1985), Johan de Kleer (1987), Henry Kautz (1989), Rodney Brooks (1991), Martha Pollack (1991), Hiroaki Kitano (1993), Sarit Kraus (1995), Stuart Russell (1995), Leslie Kaelbling (1997), Nicholas Jennings (1999), Daphne Koller (2001), Tuomas Sandholm (2003), Peter Stone (2007), Carlos Guestrin (2009), Andrew Ng (2009),Vincent Conitzer (2011) and Malte Helmert (2011).

The winner of the 2013 IJCAI Computers and Thought Award is Kristen Grauman , Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science, University of Texas at Austin.

Professor Grauman is recognized for her fundamental contributions to recognition and search problems in computer vision.

Donald E. Walker Distinguished Service Award
The IJCAI Distinguished Service Award was established in 1979 by the IJCAI Trustees to honor senior scientists in AI for contributions and service to the field during their careers. Previous recipients have been: Bernard Meltzer (1979), Arthur Samuel (1983), Donald Walker (1989), Woodrow Bledsoe (1991), Daniel G. Bobrow (1993), Wolfgang Bibel (1999), Barbara Grosz (2001), Alan Bundy (2003), Raj Reddy (2005), Ronald J. Brachman (2007), Luigia Carlucci Aiello (2009) and Raymond C. Perrault (2011).

At IJCAI-13, the Donald E. Walker Distinguished Service Award will be given to Wolfgang Wahlster, CEO and Scientific Director of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence and Professor at the Saarland University. Professor Wahlster is recognized for his substantial contributions, as well as his extensive service to the field of Artificial Intelligence throughout his career.